If you owe back taxes that exceed $10,000 in NY State, your driver’s license may be suspended.
The New York State Department of Taxation and Finance is sending 16,000 suspension notices to delinquent taxpayers. Delinquent taxpayers will then have 60 days from the mailing date to work out a payment plan. The failure to act will result in the NY Department of Motor Vehicles sending a warning letter. If the taxpayer fails to work out a tax payment plan, within 15 days from the date of the second letter, their driver’s license will be suspended. In order to reinstate their license, full payment or a plan to full pay is necessary.
Traffic and criminal attorneys should be busy because a taxpayer who drives with a suspended license will be subject to arrest and penalties. How can NY expect taxpayers to earn a living to pay their back taxes if they need to drive to work? NY is allowing those with a suspended license to apply for a restricted license. The restricted license will allow you to drive to work and return directly home.
The legislation was promulgated in an effort to cut the NY state deficit and to promote a fair tax administration to New Yorkers. It’s estimated in the 2014 fiscal year to collect $6 million in back taxes.